Home How to remove yourself from Facebook
How to remove yourself from Facebook

How to remove yourself from Facebook

0

Stop people tagging you in photos
If you’re worried about your Facebook friends posting embarrassing or incriminating photos of you, track down the evidence through your Activity Log. To access this, click the Privacy Shortcuts (padlock) icon in the top-right corner of every page, choose “Who can see my stuff?” and select Use Activity Log. Click the “Photos of You” link in the left-hand column to view every Facebook picture you’ve been tagged in. Hover your mouse over the Friends incon next to a photo to discover exactly who can see it. To hide the picture from your friends, click the pencil icon and choose ” Hidden from timeline”. To delete it from facebook altogether, or at least stop it identifying you, select “Report/Remove tag” and follow the “What would you like to happen?” instructions. You can prevent further tagged photos of you from appearing in your Timeline by going to Account Settings, “Timeline and Tagging” and clicking the Edit Link next to “Review posts friends tag you in before they appear on your timeline?:. Choose Enabled from the drop-down menu and you’ll now be asked to approve posts you’re tagged in (although they’ll still appear in other people’s feeds). Alternatively, change the settings for “Who can see posts you’ve been tagged in on your timeline?” to “Only me”.

Hide your posts from Google searches
If you want to stop content you’ve posted on Facebook appearing in Google searches, you’ll need to adjust yuor privacy settings for both future and past posts. Click the Settings (cog) icon in the top-right corner and choose Privacy Settings. In the “Who can see my stuff?” section , ensure that “Who can see your future posts?” is set to Friends or Custom. Then click the Limit Past Posts link and choose Limit Old Posts to prevent anyone apart from your friends viewing content on your Timeline.
Next, In the “Who can look me up?” section, change the settings “Who can look you up using the email address or Phone number you provided?” to Friends ( by default, it’s Everyone), and ensure that “Do you want other search engines to link to your Timeline?” is set to OFF. To be extra thorough, click Use Activity Log and manually delete everything you don’t want people to see.

See how your Timeline looks to others.

Once you’ve adjusted your settings, you can check how much of your personal information can now be seen by other Facebook users. Click the drop-down menu next to the cog icon in the top-right corner of your Timeline and select View As. Click “View as Specific Person” and enter a friend’s name to view your timeline as it appears to them, or click “public” to see what everyone who visits your page can see.

Deactivate or delete your Facebook account
Facebook discourage you from deleting your account, partly to pre-empt restoration requests from users who have done so in the heat of the moment, and also because it wants to hang onto your data. Instead, you’re encouraged to “deactivate” your account by going to Account Settings, Security and choosing “Deactivate your account“. This will hide all your Timeline information, such as friends, photos and interests, and prevent people from contacting or searching for you. You can reactivate your account at any time by logging back into the site.
If you’re sure you want to delete your account forever, which will permanently remove your personal information from facebook’s database, go to www.facebook.com/help/delete_account and click “Delete my account“. According to Facebook, this typically takes up to one month, although some data may remain in back-up copies and logs for 90 days, and certain content, such as messages you’ve sent to friends, may remain visible.

Download all your Facebook Information

Because you can’t recover your deleted Facebook account – unless you log in within two weeks of the deletion request – the social network advises you to download your information beforehand. You can do this by going to Account Settings, General, “Download a copy of your facebook data” and the clicking Start My Archive. Facebook will then prepare the download, which includes anything you’ve posted on your Timeline; sent and received messages; photos and videos; and your friend list. Facebook will then email you when it’s ready (this can take several hours).

Interestingly, you can also download an Expanded Archive that contains even more account info, such as the dates and times of all your Facebook sessions, adverts you’ve clicked and “a list of topics that you may be targeted against based on your stated likes, interests and other data you put in your timeline”. You can’t remove any of this information without deleting your account, but it’s useful to learn exactly what Facebook knows about you.

So more or less we answer the most wanted How to remove yourself from Facebook

Check out How to remove yourself from Google

LEAVE YOUR COMMENT

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *